Home » Watercolor kits » Scale copying tool

Scale copying tool

I admit I blatantly copy ideas I find on the web. I wish I remember where I got this one. (edited to credit:http://sketchbook.cheapjoes.com/2013/10/don-getz-to-journal-final-words-from-the-u-s-odyssey-journaling-tour/) His is bigger, mine is cheaper. scale tool 1

This is a Dollar Tree picture frame for a dollar. It had a magnet on the back for fridge mounting, but it was easy to remove. It fits perfectly on my cheap 4×6 Watercolor pad that I carry around for practice. scale tool 3

I slide it off the pad and use a vis-a-vis marker to trace the object in the distance. scale tool 4Then you move the frame down and hover over your paper and use it to “cheat” on your dimensions by drawing behind it.

I may add magnets or velcro to attach a light palette. See this guy for the basic idea. http://freekhand.blogspot.com/2011/06/going-hi-tech.html   That would make it a two purpose tool.

Leave a Reply

